The Hamblen County Planning & Zoning Office oversees, enforces, and provides assistance to the public with the following adopted regulations: Subdivision, Zoning, Storm Water, Building Codes, and Property Maintenance. The County Mayor appoints all Planning Commission and Board of Zoning members. Their regular meetings are the first Monday of every month. In these meeting, the Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals review subdivision plats, site plans, storm water drainage plans, drainage bonds, zoning appeals, re-zoning request, variance request, and code adoptions or amendments.

Permits & Inspections
Property Maintenance



The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC) has closed their local office.  Septic system inquiries and permit requests should be directed to the TDEC representative: Brian Murphy at 423-736-2888 or  The Knoxville TDEC office can be reached at 865-594-6035.

Important Info

Office Location:

Hamblen County Courthouse
511 W 2nd North Street
Morristown, TN 37814

Phone: 423-581-1373
Fax: 423-587-7089

Stormwater Hotline: 423-585-4077
This hotline is for Stormwater inquires ONLY.
For all other questions, please call 423-581-1373


Tina Whitaker, Department Manager
Donna Massey, Administrative Assistant
Darrell Chase, Building Inspector
Tommy McKinney, Code Enforcement Officer
Lindsey Horn, Clerical Assistant

The Planning and Zoning Office is located on the first floor of the Administrative Building.
Office hours: 8:00am to 4:30pm

Meeting Schedule

2022 Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

Meeting Agenda

The June 2022 Planning Commission meeting will be held Monday, June 6th at 4:30 p.m.

June 2022 Agendas

Important Links

Zoning Regulations
Subdivision Regulations
TDEC Flooding Response Guide for Communities
Building Code Adoption
Regulation of the Ownership, Control, Care, and Treatment of Dogs, Cats, and Strays in Hamblen County